Guide to Becoming a Clan in Destiny 2

Destiny 2 Clans are a Step Up

In Destiny 2, Clans are becoming a huge part of the gameplay. If you played the original Destiny, you were probably in a clan at some point. Clans form the backbone of team-based gameplay in Bungie’s shared-world shooter. From Raids to the Crucible and beyond, being in a clan has many perks.

destiny 2 clans

How Did Clans Work in the Past?

Since the days of Halo, Bungie has used discussion Groups on its website. These groups are a big part of the community, enabling intelligent discussion (and a lot of salt). In Destiny these groups were integrated into the game in the form of clans. Founders of Groups on Bungie.net could enable the group name as a Clan name on their PlayStation or Xbox accounts. The same could be done by all members of those groups.

How Does Destiny 2 Change it Up?

Until August 23, 2017, the founders of Groups on Bungie.net will be presented with one of two choices:

  1. Upgrade to a Destiny 2 Clan
  2. Remain a Group

What this means is that groups and clans will be completely separated.

  • If you choose to upgrade to a Destiny 2 Clan,
    • The group associated with your current clan will be deleted.
    • All history including posts and chats in your group will be transferred to the clan.
  • If you choose to remain a group,
    • Your associated clan will be deleted
    • The Clan Roster will also be deleted
    • The group will retain its history
    • The original clan name will be reserved

How to Make the Choice

Note: You can only complete a clan choice if you created the group in the first place.

  1. Visit your Clan page.
  2. Select Edit Settings at the top of the page
  3. Select one of the options

Be sure to do this before the 23rd of August!

If the selection isn’t made by the 23rd, Bungie will automatically switch you to one of the two options based on your members:

  • If your group has 50%+ members in the clan, the group will be upgraded.
  • If there are less than 50% of group members in the clan, it will remain a group.

Clan Name Reservation

If the “Remain a Group” option is selected, or if the group defaults to it on the 23rd, the associated Clan name of that group is “reserved” for the founder. This means that you can still create a Destiny 2 clan at a later date with the same clan name.

This has to be done before September 20, 2017, which is when the clan name reservations will expire. Only the founder of the group can create a clan using a reserved name.

Back to Top

 

That’s all for now on clans. Remember: if you’re a Founder, you should go on Bungie.net and choose your option ASAP! See this useful Help article for more information and FAQs.


If you enjoyed this post or thought it was useful, click Like below for similar content. Share this on Facebook, Twitter, and anywhere else to bring more Guardians into the know. Leave a comment if you have the time!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: